Review Article

History of the Fluids Engineering Division

[+] Author and Article Information
Paul Cooper

Life Fellow ASME
415 Pennington Titusville Road,
Titusville, NJ 08560-2012
e-mail: paul.cooper@verizon.net

C. Samuel Martin

Professor Emeritus
Life Fellow ASME
School of Civil Engineering,
Georgia Institute of Technology,
59 Barque Circle,
South Dennis, MA 02660
e-mail: csammartin@comcast.net

Timothy J. O'Hern

Fellow ASME
Engineering Sciences Center,
Sandia National Laboratories,
Albuquerque, NM 87185-0840
e-mail: tjohern@sandia.gov

Contributed by the Fluids Engineering Division of ASME for publication in the JOURNAL OF FLUIDS ENGINEERING. Manuscript received March 6, 2016; final manuscript received May 4, 2016; published online August 3, 2016. Assoc. Editor: Jinkook Lee.

J. Fluids Eng 138(10), 100801 (Aug 03, 2016) (20 pages) Paper No: FE-16-1140; doi: 10.1115/1.4033976 History: Received March 06, 2016; Revised May 04, 2016

The 90th Anniversary of the Fluids Engineering Division (FED) of ASME will be celebrated on July 10–14, 2016 in Washington, DC. The venue is ASME's Summer Heat Transfer Conference (SHTC), Fluids Engineering Division Summer Meeting (FEDSM), and International Conference on Nanochannels and Microchannels (ICNMM). The occasion is an opportune time to celebrate and reflect on the origin of FED and its predecessor—the Hydraulic Division (HYD), which existed from 1926–1963. Therefore, the FED Executive Committee decided that it would be appropriate to publish concurrently a history of the HYD/FED. Accordingly, they commissioned Paul Cooper, C. Samuel Martin, and Timothy O'Hern to prepare this paper, which would document the division's past. A brief work in this direction had appeared in the 2010 FED Newsletter (Morgan, W. B., 2010, Brief History of ASME's Hydraulic/Fluids Engineering Division, Fluids Engineering Division Newsletter, New York, pp. 6–7), and the research by Martin for the present paper had been under way for several years prior to that (Cooper, P., 2010, “History of the FED,” FED Executive Committee at the ASME-CSME Fluids Engineering Summer Conference (FEDSM-2010), Montréal, QC, Canada, Aug., p. 14).

Copyright © 2016 by ASME
Your Session has timed out. Please sign back in to continue.



Grahic Jump Location
Fig. 1

Lewis F. Moody, hydraulics pioneer: Water Hammer Committee 1935–1953 and chair of the Cavitation Committee 1938–1948

Grahic Jump Location
Fig. 2

Norman R. Gibson, impulse–momentum method: Water Hammer Committee 1935–1953

Grahic Jump Location
Fig. 3

Charles M. Allen, salt-velocity method

Grahic Jump Location
Fig. 4

John R. Freeman, Honorary Member and 24th President of ASME, recipient of the ASME Gold Medal, and founder of the ASME Freeman Fund

Grahic Jump Location
Fig. 5

Theodore von Kàrmàn

Grahic Jump Location
Fig. 6

Robert T. Knapp, chair (1948–1957) of the Cavitation Committee (now the MFTC)

Grahic Jump Location
Fig. 7

Robert C. Dean, Jr., Fluid Mechanics Committee chair, 1957–1958; first editor, FED Newsletter, 1963; and first editor, JFE, 1973

Grahic Jump Location
Fig. 10

Ascher H. Shapiro

Grahic Jump Location
Fig. 11

George F. Wislicenus, chair of the Cavitation Committee (now the MFTC), 1960–1962

Grahic Jump Location
Fig. 12

Organization chart, ASME FED [9]

Grahic Jump Location
Fig. 13

Evolution of the technical committees and coordinating groups of the FED

Grahic Jump Location
Fig. 14

Testimonial presented to Lorenzo Allievi, 1933

Grahic Jump Location
Fig. 15

Robert L. Daugherty, PMC chair, 1938–1947

Grahic Jump Location
Fig. 16

James W. Daily, PMC chair, 1952–1953

Grahic Jump Location
Fig. 17

Sankaraiyer Gopalakrishnan. FMaC: chair 1984–1986 and member 1978–2005 (FASTC). FED Executive Committee: chair, 2004–2005.

Grahic Jump Location
Fig. 18

Murrough P. O'Brien, chair of the Committee on General Hydraulics, 1938–1940

Grahic Jump Location
Fig. 19

William B. Morgan, prominent member and chair (1972–1974) of the MFTC

Grahic Jump Location
Fig. 20

Frank M. White, Professor Emeritus, University of RI, and editor of the JFE 1979–1990

Grahic Jump Location
Fig. 21

Paul Cooper, FED chair (1985–1986), ASME Life Fellow, Fluids Engineering Awardee, Worthington Medalist

Grahic Jump Location
Fig. 22

C. Samuel Martin, FED chair (1980–1981), ASME Life Fellow, Freeman Scholar, Life Member ASCE

Grahic Jump Location
Fig. 23

Timothy J. O'Hern, FED chair (2001–2002), Multiphase Flow Technical Committee chair (2012–2014)




Some tools below are only available to our subscribers or users with an online account.

Related Content

Customize your page view by dragging and repositioning the boxes below.

Related Journal Articles
Related eBook Content
Topic Collections

Sorry! You do not have access to this content. For assistance or to subscribe, please contact us:

  • TELEPHONE: 1-800-843-2763 (Toll-free in the USA)
  • EMAIL: asmedigitalcollection@asme.org
Sign In